CONSECRATION, MORTIFICATION AND INTERCESSION

These three words came to me with a new meaning during my recent preaching and teaching ministry.

Consecration. Not enough to say that you are a believer, that you have accepted the Lord Jesus Christ as your personal Saviour. Are you living a life that is fully dedicated to the Lord? Have you consecrated all the members of your body – and your mind – to serve Him? Have you surrendered to Him and come under His headship and lordship? A true Christian is one who has consecrated his life to serve the Lord Jesus Christ. He purchased me with His precious Blood; I belong to Him. I live for Him.

Mortification. This word came to me with a new force during my teaching ministry. We say we are crucified with Christ, Gal 2.20. But what does it mean? Is it something merely in the realm of head-knowledge. If I am a crucified Christian, does it not follow that I have to put to death the deeds of the flesh? That I must mortify these fleshly and worldly tendencies that are inherent in me? The Lord Himself said that a true follower would deny himself and carry his cross daily and follow Him, Luke 9.23. Carrying the cross is painful, but it has to be done.

Intercession. We keep praying for ourselves and our loved ones. But are we praying for the family of God? I find it difficult to be an intercessor. I keep a prayer list, but I am unable to pray fervently for the names there. I must learn to agonize in prayer. The highest form of prayer is intercession. All the time I am in the realm of supplication. Only recently I am learning to worship and adore the Lord. But most important of all, for my priestly ministry (for we are priests before God) I need to bear the names of the people I pray for on my breast and on my shoulders – like the high priest of old!

These are important words. I am still learning. If I become a true intercessor, then I can say that I have progressed in my Christian life. So far I have still not graduated to that level. Lord, help me be an intercessor, and learn the power of prayer!

JK

About Tebeth

Christian. Born-again. Baptized. Loves the Lord Jesus Christ. Loves to testify about Christ on the Internet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

